• My account

Collections of the National Library

The collections of the National Library include all materials published in Québec as well as all materials pertaining to Québec that are published outside the province. These include: books, brochures, newspapers, magazines and journals, government publications, maps and plans, sheet music, performance programs, digital publications and websites. The size and variety of these collections are a testament to the strength of Québec’s cultural and scientific achievements, from the era of New France until today.


The Regulation respecting legal deposit is the primary means by which the National Library increases its collections. As stated in the Act respecting Bibliothèque et archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ), Québec publishers must deposit with BAnQ two copies of every document published in Québec.


Materials that are not acquired through legal deposit are either purchased or donated. Depositing digital publications and websites is voluntary.